Fair Housing

Fair Housing

What is Fair Housing?
Fair Housing is the right for all people to have safe, decent housing and be able to get this housing without discrimination. City, State, and Federal Fair Housing Laws require that all people have an equal opportunity to buy, rent, or live in housing.

Fair Housing Act
Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Fair Housing Act), as amended, prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings, and in other housing-related transactions, based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status (including children under the age of 18 living with parents or legal custodians, pregnant women, and people securing custody of children under the age of 18), and handicap (disability).

What Housing Is Covered?
The Fair Housing Act covers most housing. In some circumstances, the Act exempts owner-occupied buildings with no more than four units, single-family housing sold or rented without the use of a broker, and housing operated by organizations and private clubs that limit occupancy to members.

U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development, 2014.
Family Housing Advisory Services, Inc., 2014.

If you think your rights have been violated…

Contact the nearest HUD office at:
Kansas City Regional Office of FHEO
US Department of Housing and Urban Development
Gateway Tower II
400 State Avenue, Room 200
Kansas City, KS 66101-2406
Phone: 913-551-6958
Toll Free Phone: 800-743-5323
TTY: 913-551-6972

Information about the Fair Housing Act is from www.HUD.gov website.

Other Fair Housing Information Resources: