Nebraska Noxious Weed History

The State of Nebraska has had a Noxious Weed Law for many years, dating back to the turn of the century. This law has undergone numerous revisions over the years with the most recent revision being made by the 1989 Legislature. Several times through this period, the list of Noxious weeds has changed to meet the need to control a certain weed species because of its economic impact (mostly to agriculture).

The Noxious Weed Act Revisions of 1989 defines and places specific responsibilities for noxious weed control on landowners, individual counties, and the State of Nebraska. The current list of Noxious Weeds is Saltcedar, Musk Thistle, Canada Thistle, Plumeless Thistle, Leafy Spurge, Spotted Knapweed, Diffuse Knapweed, Janpanese Knotweed, Bohemian Knotweed, Phragmites and Purple Loosestrife.

(All introduced from other countries). For more information, please check the Nebraska Department of Agriculture


Noxious weeds compete with pasture and crops, reducing yields substantially. Some noxious weeds are directly poisonous or injurious to man, livestock, and wildlife. The losses resulting from noxious weed infestations can be staggering, costing residents millions of dollars due to lost production. This not only directly affects the landowner, but erodes the tax base for all residents of the state. The business of noxious weed control is everyone’s concern, and their control is to everyone’s benefit. The support of all individuals within the state is needed and vital for the control of noxious weeds within Nebraska.